Awards and Scholarships

2022 MDA Awards of Excellence Second level Champion and First/Second level Freestyle Champion Carol Weber and Spring Hollow Lady Grace

The Morgan Dressage Association sponsors four unique programs designed to both further the training and education of members and their Morgans in dressage, and to celebrate the achievement of members and their mounts in the world of competition. We offer yearly scholarships and three distinct awards programs.


The Morgan Dressage Association Scholarship Program provides monies to help further the training and education of memberships and their Morgans in the sport of dressage. Please click here to see eligibility requirements and program details.  We have been awarding these scholarships every year since 2005.

Past and Present MDA Scholarship Award Winners

2022 MDA Schooling/Morgan Show First Level AA  Champion and First/Second Level Freestyle Champion Lin Nelson-Mayson and Tie Creek Zeta Jo


The Morgan Dressage Association “Awards of Excellence” are given to the five highest scoring Morgans at Training through Grand Prix levels in officially recognized competitions, including para-dressage, musical freestyle and dressage sport horse breeding classes, during the competition year (Nov. 1 through Oct. 31.). Horses must be ridden, handled or owned by an MDA member.  Please click here to see award eligibility and requirements.

THE MDA MORGAN BREEDER AWARD (Sponsored by Karrie Rossen)

2022 Awards of Excellence Third/Fourth Level Freestyle Champion Angela Thayer and Highover French Krystle GCH

In recognition of the efforts of Morgan breeders to breed horses with specific talent for the sport of dressage, we are offering a new award for the breeder of the highest scoring Morgan horse entered in the Awards of Excellence.  The winner of this award will receive a championship ribbon and a custom embroidered saddle pad. Please click here to see the award eligibility requirements and application.


2022 MDA Awards of Excellence First Level Open Champion Robin McNabb and Chandelle Hi Tesseract

In addition to the Awards of Excellence, and Morgan Breeder Award, the Morgan Dressage Association offers a special award for Amateur Owners called the Synergy Award.  It is given to the the highest averaged score from among the Individual Level MDA Awards of Excellence (Training through FEI) that also meets the following additional requirements:

2022 MDA Schooling/Morgan Show Introductory level Champion Laura Laney and SCMF Gov Arnold CH

— Adult Amateur riders must compete on a horse registered only to them.

— Jr. Amateur riders must compete on a horse registered only to them or their immediate family.

— Competitors must be recognized as USDF amateur riders.

— The score submitted must meet or exceed 65%

— Scores from USDF Rider (equitation) classes and Musical Freestyle classes do not apply.

2022 MDA Awards of Excellence Prix St George Champion Pamela Walters-Whalon and CBMF Lady Elle

The single winner of this award will receive a custom embroidered fleece cooler as recognition for their teamwork. See the Awards of Excellence application form for more details.

Congratulations to past MDA Awards of Excellence Winners:

2022 2021   2020   2019   2018     2017     2016     2015     2014    2013     2012     2011     2010    2009     2008   2007    2006    2005    2004    2003     2002     2001     2000     1999


2022 MDA Schooling/Morgan Show Awards First Level Open Champion and Best of the Best High Point Morgan Show Champion Sara Eastman and Moriah Matisse

The Morgan Dressage Association introduces their “Schooling/Morgan Show Awards of Excellence” to be awarded to the five highest scoring Morgans at Introductory through Grand Prix levels competing at schooling or breed shows, including musical freestyle and para-dressage tests, during the competition year (Nov. 1 through Oct. 31.). Horses must be ridden or owned by an MDA member.  Please click here to see eligibility requirements and application.

Congratulations to MDA Schooling/Morgan Show Awards of Excellence Winners:
2022  2021 2020


2022 Synergy Award winner, Training level AA&Open MDA Awards of Excellence Champion, Training level Schooling/Morgan Show Champion, Susan Adams-Conley and BlueandWhite Ireland

The Morgan Dressage Association is sponsoring an award for the highest score achieved by a Morgan horse in a single traditional dressage test at dressage shows run by Morgan breed shows. Please contact the show manager to find out if they are offering this high point award at your show. All winners in 2022 who are MDA members are eligible for the end of year high point award.

Congratulations to MDA Dressage Show High Point Winners:



2022 Awards of Excellence Third Level Champion Erin Buie and CJ Quick On The Trigger

AMHA Open Competition Program. The American Morgan Horse Association honors individuals who promote the Morgan breed in open competition through their Open Competition Program. For Year-End Awards in dressage, five scores from the same level must be submitted. In addition, Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum Medallions are given to honor life-time achievements. A Half-Morgan Open Competition Program is also available. Please visit the AMHA Open Competition page for more information and details.  Below is a list of Silver, Gold and Platinum Medallion recipients (courtesy of the Morgan Sport Resource).

Database of Morgans that have earned AMHA Open Competition Program Silver, Gold or Platinum Medallions.

2022 Awards of Excellence First level Open Reserve Champion Lauren Schiller and KS Bluestem Cimarron B

USDF Adequan®/All-Breeds Awards. The United States Dressage Federation (USDF) also recognizes excellence in the sport with their All-Breeds Awards. Individuals and their Morgans compete at all levels—from Training through Grand Prix in several divisions. Please visit the USDF website for more details and requirements. Past USDF Adequan All-Breeds Winners and USDF Horse Of the Year rankings are listed here (courtesy of the Morgan Sport Resource):

MDA High Point Winner, BlueandWhite Rebel and Sierra Breckenridge, Oregon Morgan Classic 2022
2022 Awards of Excellence Dressage Sport Horse Breeding Young Horse Champion Spirit’s Celeste and Lindsey Berry
2022 Awards of Excellence Dressage Sport Horse Breeding Young Horse Reserve Champion RBD Silver Blaze N Grace and Lindsey Berry
Laura Laney and Rivergate Steal My Heart, MDA high point award, MJMHA Classic 2022